

## **Yamhill Fire Protection District**

PO Box 249 – 275 South Olive St. Yamhill, Oregon 97148-0249 Phone: (503) 662-4653 Fax: (503) 662-3740 http://www.yamhillfire.org

Serving the people of the Yamhill Fire Protection District since 1896

July 8, 2019

To All of the Yamhill Fire Protection District Patrons,

On behalf of the Fire Board, the Fire PAC Committee and the Yamhill Fire Protection District, we would like to say "THANK YOU" for passing our levy in May.

As we begin our 2019/2020 Budget year, our "NEEDS" remain the same, breathing apparatus (Self Contained Breathing Apparatus) and then a new fire engine. We are continuously applying for grant requests and any funding from those requests will be applied to those items identified in the district's 20-year equipment replacement plan. The district's 20-year equipment replacement plan and other information can be located at the district's website located at www.yamhillfpd.org

The Five members of the Fire Board are resolved to uphold the spending limits of the levy and the specific equipment we asked to spend it on. The levy is spread out over a five-year period. The breathing apparatus will be replaced around the end of the year (2019). The new fire engine requires a year to build once we have completed all the specifications, received bids and award the contract, so we may not see the new engine until the 2020/2021 Budget year.

At the present time we currently have 38 volunteers. As the Board President with forty (40) years with the district this is the largest crew we've seen. Along with new people come a great amount of training on existing equipment and new equipment as it arrives. All the new equipment will have the latest safety features, including automatic transmissions, and will ensure the volunteers are able to do the jobs they are asked to do safely and efficiently.

In closing we would like to say thank you again and we believe the dollars spent will benefit everyone in the District for years to come.

Sincerely,

Jim Phillips Board President Jon Peasley Vice President Clint Giberson Treasurer

Joe Tavera Secretary Paul Van De Grift Director